The cheapest SQE1 courses in 2026/27
Published by FQPS Academy, an SQE preparation provider. Compared with BPP, the University of Law, BARBRI, QLTS School, City St George’s, Nottingham Law School, the College of Legal Practice, Law Training Centre, Middlesex, Aberdeen and PrepTackle; every other price links to the provider’s own page.
The cheapest SQE1 option for what you need
A mentor, live classes and a one-off course are different things, so we compare like with like.
| If you need | Cheapest we found | Price | What you get | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A free full-length mock | FQPS AcademyOursFree account with one full FLK1 and one full FLK2 mock | Freeno card needed | One full FLK1 and one full FLK2 mock in the January 2027 format, with a free account and no card | Our pricing page |
| Practice questions for both FLK papers | FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 Practice | £129 a monthno minimum term | Daily and topic practice across the 2,500+ question bank, live classroom sessions with a tutor, 4 FLK1 and 4 FLK2 mocks a month and a solicitor mentor | Our pricing page |
| A self-study course with notes and mocks | FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 Revision | £79 a monthno minimum term | Revision cards for the whole syllabus, 2 FLK1 and 2 FLK2 mocks a month and a solicitor mentor | Our pricing page |
| Live teaching | FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 Practice | £129 a monthno minimum term | Live classroom sessions with a tutor, as many as you like, with the full question bank, 4 FLK1 and 4 FLK2 mocks a month and a mentor | Our pricing page |
| A plan with a designated mentor | FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 Revision | £79 a monthno minimum term | A solicitor mentor, revision cards and 2 FLK1 and 2 FLK2 mocks a month; cancel anytime | Our pricing page |
| A single course fee, paid once | The University of Law (ULaw)SQE1 Exam Preparation Course (revision) | £6502026/27 fee; £700 from June 2027 | Live-streamed, lecturer-led revision sessions and over 150 practice questions | The University of Law (ULaw)’s page |
| Where FQPS fits FQPS has no course fee: three months on SQE1 Revision costs £237 in total, and six months moving up through Practice and Master costs £774, with a solicitor mentor throughout. | ||||
FQPS monthly totals next to one-off course fees
FQPS is billed monthly with no minimum term; the other main providers charge a course fee. These are the totals side by side.
| Course | Fee | What it includes | Human support | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Law (ULaw)SQE1 Exam Preparation Course (revision) | £6502026/27 fee; £700 from June 2027 | over 150 questions; full mock tests, number not stated; live-streamed lecturer-led sessions | Tutor or teacherlive lecturer-led sessions | The University of Law (ULaw)’s page |
| QLTS SchoolSQE1 FLK1 or FLK2 Advantage (one FLK) | £1,490per FLK; instalments add a £90 fee | 15 mock tests | Tutor or teacherinitial tutor consultation only | QLTS School’s page |
| QLTS SchoolSQE1 Basic | £1,990covers 2 sittings; instalments add a £90 fee | 2,500+ questions; 10 mock tests (5 FLK1, 5 FLK2) | Tutor or teacherinitial tutor consultation only | QLTS School’s page |
| The College of Legal Practice (CLP)Solicitors Legal Knowledge (SQE1 preparation) | £2,20013, 20 or 40 weeks; payable in 3 parts | 2300+ questions; 10 progress tests and 4 revision papers; 60-minute seminars, 1 to 3 a week | Tutor or teacher1-2-1 supervisions with practitioners | The College of Legal Practice (CLP)’s page |
| QLTS SchoolSQE1 Advantage | £2,490covers 2 sittings; instalments add a £90 fee | 2,500+ questions; 30 mock tests (15 FLK1, 15 FLK2) | Tutor or teacherinitial tutor consultation only | QLTS School’s page |
| University of AberdeenSQE1 Preparation Course (online) | £2,67512 months to complete | tutor-led information sessions | Tutor or teachertutor-led sessions and discussion boards | University of Aberdeen’s page |
| Law Training CentreSQE1 Prep: Exam-Track | £2,700one sitting; instalments total £2,779 | over 1,500 questions; 1 FLK1 and 1 FLK2 timed mock; weekly live FLK1 and FLK2 workshops | Designated mentorpersonal academic coach and 1:1 tutor support | Law Training Centre’s page |
| Law Training CentreSQE1 Prep: Flexi-Learn | £2,900up to 15 months; instalments total £2,979 | over 1,500 questions; 1 FLK1 and 1 FLK2 timed mock; weekly live FLK1 and FLK2 workshops | Designated mentorpersonal academic coach and 1:1 tutor support | Law Training Centre’s page |
| QLTS SchoolSQE1 Premium | £2,990covers 2 sittings; instalments add a £90 fee | 2,500+ questions; 30 mock tests (15 FLK1, 15 FLK2) | Tutor or teacherconsultation, study plan, 2 hours of tutor support | QLTS School’s page |
| BARBRISQE1 Prep: Accelerated | £2,99910 weeks full-time | 3,000+ questions; 8 mock tests and a full simulated exam; workshops and tutor sessions, hours not stated | Tutor or teacherunlimited sessions with learning coaches | BARBRI’s page |
| BARBRISQE1 Prep: Focused | £2,99920 weeks part-time | 3,000+ questions; 8 mock tests and a full simulated exam; workshops and tutor sessions, hours not stated | Tutor or teacherunlimited sessions with learning coaches | BARBRI’s page |
| BARBRISQE1 Prep: Flexible | £3,29940 weeks part-time | 3,000+ questions; 8 mock tests and a full simulated exam; workshops and tutor sessions, hours not stated | Tutor or teacherunlimited sessions with learning coaches | BARBRI’s page |
| Middlesex UniversitySQE1 Preparatory Course | £3,9956 months; Revise SQE books extra, about £236 | mock exams in live sessions; 1.25 hours live, twice a week | Tutor or teacherlecturer-led live teaching | Middlesex University’s page |
| BPP University Law SchoolSQE1 Preparation (self-study) | £4,3002026/27 fee; 18 months' access | 1,500+ questions; mock assessments, number not stated; live drop-in sessions, hours not stated | Tutor or teacherdrop-in sessions and forums with tutors | BPP University Law School’s page |
| Nottingham Law School (NTU)SQE 1 Preparation Course (PGDip) | £4,9202026/27 fee; 6 months full-time or 12 part-time | hundreds of questions; regular mock assessments; 20 hours of seminars per module | Tutor or teachertutor-led workshops | Nottingham Law School (NTU)’s page |
| The University of Law (ULaw)SQE1 Preparation Course (on campus) | £5,2502026/27 fee outside London; London £6,650 | regular mock assessments | Tutor or teacherpractitioner lecturers; academic coaches | The University of Law (ULaw)’s page |
| The University of Law (ULaw)SQE1 Preparation Course (online) | £5,2502026/27 fee; includes the £650 revision course | regular mock assessments; live support sessions, hours not stated | Tutor or teacherweekly feedback from lecturers; academic coaches | The University of Law (ULaw)’s page |
| The University of Law (ULaw)SQE1 Preparation for Legal Professionals (online) | £5,7502026/27 fee; 40 weeks part-time | mock SQE1 assessments, number not stated | None stated | The University of Law (ULaw)’s page |
| BPP University Law SchoolSQE1 Preparation Course (face-to-face) | £5,9002026/27 fee outside London; London £7,100 | about 10 hours a week full-time | Tutor or teacherweekly small-group classes and an SQExpert tutor | BPP University Law School’s page |
| BPP University Law SchoolSQE1 Preparation Course (Online Classroom Live) | £5,9002026/27 fee; 4 months full-time or 10 part-time | about 10 hours a week full-time | Tutor or teacherweekly small-group classes and an SQExpert tutor | BPP University Law School’s page |
Combined SQE1 and SQE2 programmes, mock packs and every other product are in the full SQE1 price tables. For SQE2, see the cheapest SQE2 mocks marked by a solicitor.
Charts you can reuse
Free to use in your own articles, notes and posts under CC BY 4.0. Keep the credit link to FQPS Academy: the embed code below includes it.

Course fees are paid once; FQPS plans are monthly. The SRA's SQE1 fee of £2,006 is on top.
Open full size (PNG)
From £5,896 in total: £5,092 of SRA fees and £804 of preparation.
Open full size (PNG)Cheapest SQE1 course: common questions
What is the cheapest SQE1 course?
Among the main SQE providers, FQPS Academy is the cheapest way to prepare for SQE1 with a person behind you: a designated solicitor mentor from £79 a month, and live classroom sessions with a tutor from £129 a month. The cheapest one-off course fee is £650 (The University of Law (ULaw)). You can start free with one full FLK1 and one full FLK2 mock. The SRA's SQE1 fee of £2,006 is on top.
Which SQE1 courses include live classes?
From SQE1 Practice up, plans include live classroom sessions with a tutor, with no cap on how many you join. FQPS SQE1 Practice is £129 a month. Among the other main providers, The University of Law (ULaw), The College of Legal Practice (CLP), University of Aberdeen, Law Training Centre, BARBRI, Middlesex University, BPP University Law School, Nottingham Law School (NTU), City St George's (City Law School) include live teaching in their courses, sold as a one-off fee.
Can I prepare for SQE1 for free?
You can start. FQPS Academy gives one full FLK1 and one full FLK2 mock in the January 2027 format with a free account, and the SRA publishes sample questions. Free material alone rarely covers the whole syllabus, so most candidates add a course.
How much does SQE1 cost in total?
The SRA charges £2,006 for both FLK papers (£1,003 each) from September 2026. Preparation is on top: for example, six months with FQPS Academy (3 on Revision, 2 on Practice, 1 on Master) costs £774, and one-off courses from the main providers run from £650 upwards.
Start with two free full-length mocks
One full FLK1 and one full FLK2 mock in the January 2027 format, free with an account and no card. A solicitor mentor starts at £79 a month, and live classroom sessions with a tutor at £129 a month, with no minimum term.
More SQE price guides

Every SQE1 and SQE2 price from BPP, ULaw, BARBRI, QLTS and FQPS, with the source for each one.

SQE2 mocks marked by a solicitor, priced per mock, for every provider that sells them.

The lowest-priced options for each need, from free mocks to classroom courses, one per provider.
Side by side: