Skip to content
FQPS Academy vs The University of Law

FQPS Academy vs The University of Law: SQE prices and what each includes

The University of Law’s SQE1 Preparation Course costs £5,250 and its SQE1 revision course £650, paid once. FQPS Academy’s SQE1 plans cost £79 to £279 a month, no minimum term: less than £5,250 for up to 18 months on the £279 plan; £650 covers 8 months of the £79 plan. FQPS Academy publishes this page.

Every price was read from the provider’s own page on 3 October 2026, and the table links to it.

See the full comparison

The University of Law and FQPS Academy:
every product, price and inclusion

The University of Law’s rows come from its own pages, read on 3 October 2026, with VAT shown as The University of Law states it. FQPS Academy’s rows come from our pricing page. FQPS prices include VAT.

Chart: FQPS Academy vs ULaw: what each costs. SQE1 preparation: FQPS Academy (6 months, Revision to Master): £774, ULaw (SQE1 Exam Preparation Course (revision)): £650. SQE2 preparation: FQPS Academy (3 months on SQE2 Preparation): £567, ULaw (SQE2 Exam Preparation Course (revision)): £1,150. ULaw course fees are paid once; FQPS plans are monthly, with no minimum term.
ULaw course fees are paid once; FQPS plans are monthly, with no minimum term. Free to reuse with credit to FQPS Academy (CC BY 4.0).
SQE1: The University of Law and FQPS Academy
ProductPriceBilling and termsQuestions, mocks and live teachingHuman supportSource
The University of Law (ULaw)Study manual bundle: FLK1 (8 manuals)£313VAT not statedOne payment6th edition; single manuals from £45.99Not statedNone statedThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)Study manual bundle: FLK2 (8 manuals)£313VAT not statedOne payment6th edition; single manuals from £45.99Not statedNone statedThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)Study manual bundle: Law & Professional Practice (15 manuals)£552VAT not statedOne payment6th editionNot statedNone statedThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE1 Exam Preparation Course (revision)£650VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee; £700 from June 2027over 150 questions; full mock tests, number not stated; live-streamed lecturer-led sessionsTutor or teacherlive lecturer-led sessionsThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE Law Essentials (online)£4,400VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee; law foundation, not SQE1 exam prepmock SQE1 assessments each semester; 1-hour live support sessionsTutor or teachersupport and feedback from a lecturerThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE1 Preparation Course (on campus)£5,250VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee outside London; London £6,650regular mock assessmentsTutor or teacherpractitioner lecturers; academic coachesThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE1 Preparation Course (online)£5,250VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee; includes the £650 revision courseregular mock assessments; live support sessions, hours not statedTutor or teacherweekly feedback from lecturers; academic coachesThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE1 Preparation for Legal Professionals (online)£5,750VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee; 40 weeks part-timemock SQE1 assessments, number not statedNone statedThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
FQPS AcademyOursFree account with one full FLK1 and one full FLK2 mockFreeIncludes VATNo paymentno card needed1 full FLK1 and 1 full FLK2 mock, January 2027 formatSupport callfree 30-minute call with our teamOur pricing page
FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 mock (FLK1 and FLK2)£29Includes VATOne payment1 FLK1 and 1 FLK2Support callfree 30-minute call with our teamOur pricing page
FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 mock pack, 3 FLK1 and 3 FLK2£79Includes VATOne payment3 FLK1 and 3 FLK2Support callfree 30-minute call with our teamOur pricing page
FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 Revision£79 a monthIncludes VATMonthlyNo minimum term, cancel anytime2 FLK1 and 2 FLK2 mocks a monthDesignated mentorSolicitor mentorOur pricing page
FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 Practice£129 a monthIncludes VATMonthlyNo minimum term, cancel anytime2,500+ questions; 4 FLK1 and 4 FLK2 mocks a month; Live classroom sessions with a tutor, as many as you likeDesignated mentorSolicitor mentorOur pricing page
FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 mock pack, 5 FLK1 and 5 FLK2£139Includes VATOne payment5 FLK1 and 5 FLK2Support callfree 30-minute call with our teamOur pricing page
FQPS AcademyOursSQE1 Master£279 a monthIncludes VATMonthlyNo minimum term, cancel anytime2,500+ questions; 7 FLK1 and 7 FLK2 mocks a month; Live classroom sessions with a tutor, as many as you likeDesignated mentorSolicitor mentor, 4 private tutor sessions a monthOur pricing page
SQE2: The University of Law and FQPS Academy
ProductPriceBilling and termsQuestions, mocks and live teachingHuman supportSource
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE2 skills study manual (written or oral)£44.99 eachVAT not statedPer itemper manual, from £44.99Not statedNone statedThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE2 Exam Preparation Course (revision)£1,150VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee1 mock assessment per skill; 2 days, or 5 evenings and a SaturdayTutor or teacherlive sessions with lecturersThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE2 Preparation for Legal Professionals (online)£5,000VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee; includes the revision courseNot statedNone statedThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE2 Preparation Course (on campus)£5,000VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee outside London; London £6,400regular practice assessments with feedbackTutor or teacherlecturer feedbackThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)SQE2 Preparation Course (online)£5,000VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee; includes the £1,150 revision courseregular practice assessments with feedbackTutor or teacherweekly individual feedback from lecturersThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
The University of Law (ULaw)PGDip in Legal Practice (SQE2 and SQE Plus)£11,350VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee outside London; London £14,150Not statedNone statedThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page
FQPS AcademyOursSQE2 Preparation£189 a monthIncludes VATMonthlyNo minimum term, cancel anytime6 live 1:1 mocks a month, marked by a solicitorDesignated mentorSolicitor mentorOur pricing page
FQPS AcademyOursSQE2 Boost£399 a monthIncludes VATMonthlyNo minimum term, cancel anytime9 live 1:1 mocks a month, marked by a solicitorDesignated mentorSolicitor mentor, 4 private tutor sessions a monthOur pricing page
SQE1 and SQE2 together: The University of Law
ProductPriceBilling and termsQuestions, mocks and live teachingHuman supportSource
The University of Law (ULaw)LLM Legal Practice (SQE1 and 2, master's degree)£15,150VAT not statedOne payment2026/27 fee outside London; London £18,850Not statedTutor or teacheracademic coachesThe University of Law (ULaw)’s page

FQPS Academy has no combined SQE1 and SQE2 package: its SQE1 and SQE2 plans are billed monthly and separately, and the SQE2 plans include the SQE1 law revision material.

Prices change. If a price here differs from The University of Law’s own page, the source link is the one to trust, and we correct the row when we next check. Every other SQE provider we priced is in our SQE course price audit.

Where The University of Law may suit you better

Facts from The University of Law’s own pages, read on 3 October 2026. If one of these matters most to you, ULaw may be the better choice.

Live lecturer-led teaching

ULaw’s SQE1 Exam Preparation Course (revision), at £650, includes live-streamed lecturer-led sessions and full mock tests, number not stated; its SQE2 Exam Preparation Course (revision), at £1,150, runs live over 2 days, or 5 evenings and a Saturday. From SQE1 Practice up, plans include live classroom sessions with a tutor, with no cap on how many you join.

Study on campus

ULaw’s SQE1 Preparation Course (on campus) costs £5,250 (2026/27 fee outside London; London £6,650). Support listed: practitioner lecturers; academic coaches. FQPS Academy is online only.

A master’s degree or postgraduate diploma

ULaw’s LLM Legal Practice (SQE1 and 2, master's degree) costs £15,150 (2026/27 fee outside London; London £18,850) and its PGDip in Legal Practice (SQE2 and SQE Plus) £11,350 (2026/27 fee outside London; London £14,150). FQPS plans are exam preparation only, with no qualification attached.

Study manuals

ULaw sells SQE study manuals. Its Study manual bundle: FLK1 (8 manuals) costs £313 (6th edition; single manuals from £45.99). FQPS does not sell books; its revision material is on the FQPS platform.

Pay monthly and stop when you pass

Billed monthly, prices include VAT, no minimum term, cancel anytime. The University of Law’s SQE1 Preparation Course (online) is £5,250 up front; the same sum pays for 18 months of SQE1 Master (£279 a month) or 66 months of SQE1 Revision (£79 a month).

A designated solicitor mentor on every plan

Every paid FQPS plan includes a designated mentor and a personal study plan from Cleo, the FQPS study planner. Mentors are qualified solicitors, available 8am to 8pm, Monday to Friday. Cleo, the FQPS study assistant, answers out of hours.

SQE2 live 1:1 mocks at £31.50 a mock

Live 1:1 mocks cover the oral and the written stations, run under exam conditions and marked by a qualified solicitor, with written feedback. SQE2 Preparation is £189 a month for 6, or £31.50 a mock if you use them all. We found no stand-alone marked SQE2 mocks from ULaw: its SQE2 Exam Preparation Course (revision) costs £1,150 and includes 1 mock assessment per skill.

Free full-length FLK1 and FLK2 mocks

One full FLK1 and one full FLK2 mock (2 × 85 questions each, January 2027 format), free on sign-up with no card. You can try the exam format and the platform before paying anything.

A pass guarantee, with conditions

If you prepared with FQPS for at least six months and did not pass SQE1 or SQE2 at your first attempt, you keep access to your FQPS plan for free until you pass. Read the guarantee terms.

Where FQPS Academy may suit you better

FQPS Academy is an online SQE preparation provider. These are the points where our plans differ most from The University of Law’s, with the numbers.

Why students choose FQPS, and who it does not suit

FQPS Academy vs The University of Law: common questions

Is FQPS Academy cheaper than The University of Law?

It depends which ULaw course you compare. ULaw’s SQE1 Preparation Course (online) costs £5,250 and its SQE2 Preparation Course (online) £5,000, paid once; its shorter revision courses cost £650 for SQE1 and £1,150 for SQE2. FQPS Academy’s SQE1 plans cost £79 to £279 a month and its SQE2 plans £189 or £399, with no minimum term. FQPS costs less than ULaw’s £5,250 SQE1 course unless you stay more than 18 months on the £279 plan, and ULaw’s £650 revision course costs more than 8 months on FQPS’s £79 plan.

What does ULaw’s SQE1 revision course include compared with FQPS?

ULaw states that its SQE1 Exam Preparation Course (revision), at £650 (2026/27 fee; £700 from June 2027), includes over 150 questions, full mock tests, number not stated, and live-streamed lecturer-led sessions. On FQPS, SQE1 Revision (£79 a month) includes: Revision cards for the whole SQE1 syllabus, MCQ practice, flashcards, 2 FLK1 and 2 FLK2 mocks a month, a designated mentor and a personal study plan from Cleo, the FQPS study planner.

Does The University of Law offer an SQE master’s degree?

Yes. ULaw’s LLM Legal Practice (SQE1 and 2, master's degree) costs £15,150 (2026/27 fee outside London; London £18,850), and its PGDip in Legal Practice (SQE2 and SQE Plus) £11,350. FQPS Academy offers exam preparation only, from £79 a month for SQE1 and £189 a month for SQE2.

Who wrote this comparison of FQPS Academy and The University of Law?

FQPS Academy, which sells SQE preparation, so read it as a provider’s comparison. Every price and inclusion for The University of Law was read from The University of Law’s own pages on 3 October 2026, and each row links to its source so you can check it. The University of Law can ask us to correct any row.

Do FQPS Academy and The University of Law prices include VAT?

FQPS Academy prices include VAT. The University of Law’s pages we read do not say whether VAT is included, so check before you compare totals.

FQPS Academy Courses

People are talking

The new way to prepare
the SQE starts here.

More SQE price guides

SQE course prices compared
SQE course prices compared

Every SQE1 and SQE2 price from BPP, ULaw, BARBRI, QLTS and FQPS, with the source for each one.

The cheapest SQE1 courses
The cheapest SQE1 courses

What SQE1 preparation costs in total, from a free full mock to a complete course.

The cheapest SQE2 mocks
The cheapest SQE2 mocks

SQE2 mocks marked by a solicitor, priced per mock, for every provider that sells them.